top of page

Club History

Burwood-FC_Logo Gold_edited.png

Burwood FC Club History - Established 1971

Club History

1971: Members of the Croydon community whose children attended Holy Innocents school entered a few teams in the Western Suburbs and District Soccer Football Association competition. They played under the name of their school (Holy Innocents). Brian Thomas was a founding member and had been involved with the club for many years and is a life member.

1976: The club played in the WSADSFC up until 1976 when the association folded.

1977: The club  joined the Canterbury District Soccer and Football Association (CDSFA).


1980: The club was renamed to Burwood Soccer Club.


1998: Club started playing at Centenary Park.  

2009:  Burwood S.C. changed its name to Burwood Football Club .


2012: Burwood has grown from 2 teams in 1971 playing at Blair Park to 57 teams and 755 players with 3 main fields. One full field at Blair Park, and 2 full fields at Centenary Park with 2 mini fields.

2017: On 5 August, the new Centenary Pavilion was opened after 5 years of hard work, advocacy and negotiations by CDSFA President Ian Holmes and Burwood FC President Andrew McVeigh that resulted in over $2 million of funds being made available for the rebuilt pavilion along with new lighting and field renovation.

2019: Burwood FC is awarded the Bert Harvey award for fair play.

As a result of the advocacy for the Centenary Pavilion, further funds of $1.3 million were secured to rebuild the Blair Park Pavilion as the principal office and storage facility for Burwood FC. The field was completely renovated and returfed to be a first class playing surface and was opened on the 11th of October.

2022: President Andrew McVeigh is awarded the CDSFA's principal volunteer award, the Vince and Val Laws medal and then receives the Football NSW State Award after 11 years as President

2023: Burwood FC achieves status as 1 Star Club under the Football Australia Club Changer program demonstrating our commitment and dedication to women and girls football.  Peter Turner received the Cec Barlow award from Football Canterbury for his volunteer contribution to the Club.

Burwood FC Honors

Burwood has experienced success in the CDSFA Association over many years. Burwood teams have also competed in state and world-wide tournaments. In particular a core team of players, coached by Les Gabor, won a number of prestigious tournaments, Champion of Champions in 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2011 along with being State Cup winners in 2005, 2007 and 2011. No other team has won the State Cup and Champion of Champions in the same season.


In 2004 a Burwood under 9/1 team were Strikers Cup champions.


In 2009 an over 50s Burwood team, managed by Andy McVeigh, won the gold medal in the World Masters beating a team made up of ex Thailand national players 8-7 in a penalty shoot out.

Burwood has many entries in the Football NSW Champion of Champions History.

Burwood FC Representative Players

Some Burwood players have gone onto success at higher levels : Eddy Bosnar played professionally in the A-League,  Korea and a number of years in Japan. Milan Bosnar and Ivan Bosnar are also professional players playing for many clubs including Sydney United. Vincent Giannini went on to play for the junior socceroos (under 13s).

To see the history of clubs, including Burwood FC, in the CDSFA please click here.

Club History
Executive Committee
Life Members
Makaritis M.jpg

Michael Makaritis

President /

Executive Committe

squilla T small.jpg

Tom Squillacioti

Vice President /

Executive Committe

Grew M.jpg

Matthew Grew

Secretary /

Executive Committe

turner p.jpg

Peter Turner

Treasurer /

Executive Committe

Executive Committee

Club Volunteers

Our football club is run entirely by volunteers and we are always keen to have more assistance. We would like to thank our volunteer committee members for their contribution to Burwood Football Club.


If you are interested in joining the committee, please follow this link to understand the roles and time commitment.  Even if you don’t want to be in a specified role on the committee, if there is any area you can provide some assistance with some extra help is always appreciated.

Those volunteers with a * indicates they are members of the Club Management Committee


Phone: 0417 734 776

Peter Turner*


Registrar, Website

Phone 0478 408 619


Chris Fogarty

Coaching Coordinator

Phone: 0420 928 824


Neil Scaturchio*

Competition Secretary, Senior Players Coordinator

Phone: 0411 222 333

Daniella Faria

Junior Coaching Co-ordinator



Tom Squillacioti*

Vice President

Assistant Recorder, Equipment Manager

Phone: 0418 441 215

Jemma Cummings*

Recorder, Assistant Registrar


Association delegate

Victoria Moliterno

Communications coordinator

Wilson Guzman

Grading Co-ordinator and coach


Social/Fundraising coordinator

Secretary, Member Protection

Phone: 0408 185 943

Gemma Cordeiro

Assistant Equipment Manager

Womens Coordinator, Canteen Coordinator

Phone: 0403 083 925

Naome Reid*

Association Delegate


Technical Director


Hebbat-Allah Manhy Veschambre

U6/7 Co-ordinator

Life Members

The club is grateful for the contribution our life members have made over their many years of service to the club.

Graham Fell                                                     1992
Ron Cody                                                        1992
Lorna Riddle (deceased)                                1992 
Suzanne Lovett                                               1992
Frances Hudson                                              1992
Ron Hudson                                                    1992
Maria Tallentire                                                1992
Phil Buncombe                                                1992
Nick Athanasopoulos                                       1992
Jon Facey                                                        1992
Suzanne Staines                                             1995
Ted Staines                                                      1995
Andrew Stamar                                                1996
Peter Mottee (deceased)                                 2000
Brian Thomas (deceased)                               2001
John Athanas                                                  2002
Alan Lindsay                                                    2002
Tom Squillacioti                                               2004
Brad Crowe                                                      2010
Andrew McVeigh                                              2014

Club Constitution

Club Policies


Football NSW insurance program

For details on the Football NSW Insurance Program please visit this website. You will find more information on what is covered, how to make a claim and general guidelines. Should you need further information please contact the club.

View a summary of the Insurance Programme.

Make a claim via their online portal.

Constitution & Annual Reports
Club Policies
bottom of page